October 20, 2015

Press Contact:
Steve Cho, Executive Director
info -AT-

Press Release

Camerata Notturna is thrilled to announce that Jonas Tarm’s new work, Refugee at Sea, has been selected as the winner of its inaugural composition competition. Mr. Tarm, a winner of the National YoungArts Foundation award and MSTNA composition contest, currently studies at the New England Conservatory with Stratis Minakakis and Anthony Coleman. His works have been performed throughout throughout Europe, Asia, and the United States, and his music has been commissioned by, among others, the Tallinn Philharmonic, the New York Virtuoso Singers, the Chicago Beethoven Festival, and the Estonian Composer's Union.

Jonas Tarm's work was selected in a blind audition by an independent panel of distinguished judges, Timo Andres and Eric Nathan. Mr. Andres is the recipient of awards from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, BMI, and ASCAP, and his music has been commissioned by Carnegie Hall, Wigmore Hall, the Gilmore Foundation, and many others. Mr. Nathan, a Rome Prize winner and Guggenheim Fellow, has recently received commissions from the New York Philharmonic, the Boston Symphony Orchestra, the Tanglewood Music Center, and Jennifer Koh.

Camerata Notturna will be performing the U.S. premiere of Refugee at Sea at its season finale on May 21, 2016, a concert that also features legendary French hornist Stewart Rose in Richard Strauss' Horn Concerto no. 1. Don’t miss it!