Press Contact:
Ann Lam, General Manager
914-400-8380 -AT-

An evening of music spotlighting 31 virtuoso instrumental soloists, including
legendary pianist Gilbert Kalish and master thereminist Dalit Warshaw

Camerata Notturna showcases the virtuosic talent of more than two dozen virtuoso instrumentalists, headlined by the venerable pianist Gilbert Kalish and the master theremin player Dalit Warshaw. Mr. Kalish appears with Camerata Notturna's Music Director, Jonathan Yates, in Mozart's beloved Concerto for Two Pianos in E-flat Major, K. 365, and Dalit Warshaw is spotlighted in her own The Departure for theremin and string orchestra, which receives its New York premiere. Members of the Camerata Notturna shine in Vivaldi's rarely heard Concerto Grosso, RV 574, for solo violin, two oboes, bassoon, horn, continuo and strings, Glazunov's delightful Chant du Menestrel, and Strauss's monumental threnody for 23 solo strings, Metamorphosen.

The performance takes place on Saturday, April 25, at 8 PM, at the Good Shepherd-Faith Presbyterian Church (152 W. 66th Street, between Broadway and Amsterdam). Tickets--$20 General Admission, $10 Students and Seniors--may be purchased at the door or online at

A native New Yorker, pianist Gilbert Kalish leads a musical life of unusual variety and breadth. His profound influence on the musical community as educator and as pianist in myriad performances and recordings has established him as a major figure in American music-making. A frequent collaborator with the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center, the Contemporary Chamber Ensemble, and the Boston Symphony Chamber Players, as well as the Emerson, Fine Arts, and Juilliard string quartets, Mr. Kalish has also enjoyed celebrated collaborations with the cellist Joel Krosnick, soprano Dawn Upshaw, and the late mezzo-soprano Jan DeGaetani.

Dalit Warshaw's works have been performed by many of the world's leading orchestras, including the New York and Israel Philharmonic orchestras (Zubin Mehta conducting), the Boston Symphony, The Cleveland Orchestra, and the Houston Symphony. A member of the composition/theory department at the Boston Conservatory, she is the winner of a Morton Gould Young Composers Award from the ASCAP Foundation (2003), the New Juilliard Ensemble Composers Competition (2003), and a Fulbright Scholarship (2001-02). As thereminist, Ms. Warshaw has appeared with numerous orchestras, including the New York Philharmonic, the American Composers Orchestra, and the Royal Philharmonic; most recently, she appeared with Boston Symphony Orchestra under the direction of Alan Gilbert in Ives's Fourth Symphony, performing a part she edited and enhanced for the occasion.

The Camerata Notturna, a dynamic mix of 40 young professional musicians and accomplished amateur players, has redefined the community orchestra with the remarkable skill of its instrumentalists, the passion and enthusiasm of its performances, and the inventiveness of its programming. The Camerata Notturna counts among its members not only New York city's finest amateur musicians, but also winners of international competitions as well as current and former members of the world's leading ensembles, including The Philadelphia Orchestra, the Hong Kong Philharmonic, and the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center. In Camerata Notturna's short history, the ensemble has already collaborated with such artists as Colin Carr, Stefan Jackiw, Anthony McGill, and members of the Silk Road Ensemble, and has performed premieres of works by Chen Yi, Huang Ruo, Dan Coleman, and Augusta Read Thomas.

Program Information
Saturday, April 25, at 8 PM
Good Shepherd-Faith Presbyterian Church
152 W. 66th Street (between Broadway and Amsterdam)

Camerata Notturna
Jonathan Yates, Music Director and Conductor
Gilbert Kalish, Piano
Dalit Warshaw, Theremin
Jihyun Kim, Cello

VIVALDI Concerto Grosso for solo violin, two oboes, bassoon, two horns, strings, and basso continuo, RV 574
DALIT WARSHAW The Departure (2005) for Theremin and String Orchestra (NY Premiere)
MOZART Concerto for Two Pianos in E-flat Major, K. 365
GLAZUNOV Chant du Menestrel for Cello and Orchestra, Op. 71
STRAUSS Metamorphosen for 23 Solo Strings, Op. 142

Tickets: $20 General Admission / $10 Students and Seniors